Crime drama Shetland triumphs at Bafta Scotland



Media captionDouglas Henshall faced competition for the award from Sam Heughan and Peter Capaldi

TV crime drama Shetland was one of the big winners at the Scottish Baftas.

Douglas Henshall won the television actor award and the show clinched the TV drama category.

Producer Rebecca O’Brien, writer Paul Laverty and Ken Loach – filmmakers behind hits like Sweet 16, The Angels’ Share and My Name Is Joe – received an outstanding contribution award.

A BBC Scotland investigation Britain’s Puppy Dealers Exposed won the current affairs category.

Edith Bowman hosted the event, held at Glasgow’s Radisson Blu hotel, with James McAvoy and Bill Paterson among the stars handing out awards.

Shetland – an ITV Studios production for BBC Scotland based on the Ann Cleeves novels – was nominated in four categories.

Douglas Henshall won the best TV actor award, beating off strong competition from Outlander star Sam Heughan and Peter Capaldi who was also nominated for his Dr Who performances.

Image caption

The star-studded event took place at Glasgow’s Radisson Blu hotel

Heughan’s Outlander co-star Caitriona Balfe triumphed over Ashley Jensen and Annie Wallace to win the TV actress prize, delighting the many Outlander fans who had gathered outside the venue.

Peter Mullan received the film actor award for his role in Hector, while Couple In A Hole’s Kate Dickie won this year’s film actress award.

Sitcom Mrs Brown’s Boys won the Comedy/Entertainment category for the second year in a row, beating off competition from Scot Squad and Two Doors Down.

Britain’s Puppy Dealers Exposed, a BBC Scotland investigation by Samantha Poling, Sandeep Gill and Liam McDougall, was honoured in the current affairs category.

The award for best single TV documentary went to Dunblane, Our Story, an STV production for the BBC.

Image copyright
Andy Buchanan

Image caption

Paul Laverty and Rebecca O’Brien have been involved in a string of film hits including Sweet Sixteen

Martin Compston, who shot to fame after he was picked from obscurity to play the lead role in the Ken Loach film Sweet 16, presented the outstanding achievement to film award to screenwriter Paul Laverty and producer Rebecca O’Brien for their work with Sixteen Films.

“I owe my entire career to Ken, Rebecca and Paul,” Compston said.

“Apart from being possibly the most important film makers Britain has ever had, they’re just three lovely people who have taken a chance on people like myself and they deserve to be honoured in this way.”

Hair and make-up artist Christine Gant’s work in the industry over 35 years was also recognised with an outstanding contribution award.

Bafta Scotland director Jude MacLaverty said: “This has been another incredible year for Scotland’s film, television and gaming industries and we’re honoured to be celebrating this tremendous mix of talent tonight.

“Once again, we offer our warmest congratulations to all our worthy winners.”

The winners at Bafta Scotland 2016

Actor Film – Peter Mullan, Hector

Actor Television – Douglas Henshall, Shetland

Actress Film – Kate Dickie, Couple in a Hole

Actress Television – Caitriona Balfe, Outlander

Animation – No Place Like Home, Cat Bruce, Neil Jack – KoLik

Children’s Programme – All Over The Place, BBC Scotland/CBBC

Comedy/Entertainment – Mrs Brown’s Boys 2015 Christmas special

Current Affairs – BBC Scotland Investigates: Britain’s Puppy Dealers Exposed, Liam McDougall, Samantha Poling, Sandeep Gill

Director Film/Television – Douglas Mackinnon, Sherlock, The Abominable Bride

Factual Series – This Farming Life, BBC Studios/BBC Two

Feature Film – Tommy’s Honour, Gutta Percha Productions, SellOutPictures

Features/Factual Entertainment – Supershoppers, Firecrest Films/Channel 4

Game – Glitchspace, Space Budgie

Short Film – Isabella, Ross Hogg, Duncan Cowles

Single Documentary – Dunblane: Our Story, STV Productions/Berriff McGinty Films/BBC One

Specialist Factual – Imagine… Richard Flanagan: Life After Death, BBC Studios/BBC One

Television Drama – Shetland, ITV Studios/BBC One

Writer Film/Television – DC Moore, Not Safe for Work

Outstanding Contribution to Craft – Christine Cant

Outstanding Contribution to Film – Sixteen Films, Ken Loach, Rebecca O’Brien, Paul Laverty


Source link